9 days to go

by Clairet

I am starting to get concerned about my recklessness in agreeing to do this, but it’s too late to back out now! I did some calculations and worked out that if I work without eating or breaks I need to produce a poem every 5 minutes.  I think the hardest thing will be to allow sub-par poems to exist on the internet, it’s a bit like flashing your knickers in public. Hopefully some of those fast-produced 100 poems can be re-worked into good poems eventually, that’s what I’m trying to tell myself…

I am also keeping in mind Jacqueline Saphra’s inspirational blog on her Canary Wharf residency: ‘I began to feel increasingly gung-ho about putting things up even when they weren’t quite finished, and I hadn’t laboured on them for weeks or months or years or even hours. It started to feel strangely therapeutic, all that letting go. Perhaps a bit like an artist who makes a quick sketch feels good, and just moves on to the next one.’

list

Anyway, keep the suggestions, prompts, titles etc coming. I am adding them to a spreadsheet to keep track of things on 22nd. I’m also keeping track of who suggested what so a dedication should come with each one. As you can see I have 9 so far, I need something closer to 100 to keep me going, so please send as many as you please!

